Give back by giving a local gift card!

Want to give back to your community by giving local gift cards this year? Here are just a few great ideas of places to get one from:

il_430xn15703400.jpg

The above is one example of a gorgeous gift certificate from Smashing, a charming local artist, whose shop is located on the website Etsy. You can order a lovely gift certificate in any denomination or even request an e-certificate (online code) to allow your recipient to pick a modern jewelry piece of their own choice.

La Petite Libellule, also on Etsy offers online gift certificates as well. It’s a perfect shop to find that one-of-a kind item for a fashionista!

You can support local arts and music and theater by giving a gift certificate for the Cleveland Orchestra or a gift card for the Playhouse Square Theaters.

Or, if it’s an artist you need to buy a gift certificate for you can pick one up for your favorite knitter for Stitch Cleveland, where they can take classes or pick up supplies.

Perhaps, they’re not an artist but still want to learn something new? Consider a gift certificate to the Cleveland Wine School. They can be used for tastings and other events too. (Hint to the authors husband!)

Visit any number of your favorite local restaurants and request a gift certificate. You’d be hard pressed to find any restaurant that doesn’t offer them

2 Responses

  1. your article on buying in your local economy was great. My question to you is do you allow your wiitings to be reprinted? I just started a community web sight for my home town in the hopes that I can help save our town from being overrun by the rush of big box stores. I look forward to hearing from you, Brad

  2. So strange to get your e-mail after finding one of my posts copied word for word somewhere else….

    Brad I have a CC license as follows:

    Attribution. You must attribute the work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work).

    No Derivative Works. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

    In other words, send me an e-mail letting me know what you want to use it for, link back to this site and give author credit.
    I like to promote the arts (but forgive my ego for liking a little credit—it’s not like I get paid to do this. LOL.)

    I’d like to see your local site please, so send me a link too. Perhaps I’ll write about YOU. 🙂

Leave a Reply

