Reminder: Derek Plaslaiko tonight

Just a reminder, Derek Plaslaiko will be DJing tonight along with Jamie Tyler, Funk Detective, Teknative, Vitruvius and more.  It should be a good party.  Check the old post  https://artaddict.wordpress.com/2008/01/15/derek-plaslaiko-touch-supper-club-21608/

Ohio’s percent for Art

Dear taxpayer, do you want to know where some of your money goes?

The following quote if from the web-site of the Ohio Arts Council:

“In 1990, the Ohio Legislature, recognizing the state’s responsibility to foster culture and the arts and to encourage the development of artists and craftspeople, established the Ohio Percent for Arts Program. The law provides funds for the acquisition, commissioning and installation of works of art for certain new or renovated public buildings. Whenever the legislature appropriates more than $4 million for a public building, the law requires one percent of the total appropriation to be allocated for artwork. Since the legislation went into effect nearly 90 projects have been completed. Those projects have brought public art into many cities and small communities around Ohio. “

Interested in seeing where some of that money has gone? Visit the OAC’s Ohio Percent for Art Projects searchable directory.

Jewelry for the Upcoming Art Shows

So it’s application time for the summer art shows. In addition to my regular job, there’s been quite a bit of additional work lately setting up photo shoots to get slides to send to jury, applications to fill out, cover letters/resumes to tweak, print and send, and lots of stamps bought! I always forget until this time of year what a process it is. I’ve applied to three shows so far, and I think there are three or more in the works I may be doing. The husband is somewhat groaning that he may lose half the weekends of the summer sitting in the hot sun under a white tent. I love doing art shows though. I love meeting customers in person, and talking about the items I loved making. It’s fun to see what items sell (and interesting to see sometimes which ones don’t) In the next month or so I imagine I’ll be posting the schedule for where I will be this summer. I’ll also post some links to shows that are seeking artists for anyone that is interested. Then of course, come summer I’ll post all the shows for anyone who wants to go check out some great art.

For a little preview, here’s a few pieces I have been working on. I’m planning on taking them on the road, though they are already for sale at http://www.valerietyler.etsy.com if you are interested.

Trinity Necklace

trinity1.jpg

Sleek Balance Necklace
il_430xn19611139.jpg
Princess Bride Earrings
il_430xn16907515.jpg
Princess Bride Necklace
il_430xn16906469.jpg