Rising Artists Interview: Studio M (a.k.a Studio M07)

I’ve decided to help out artists who are just starting out with brand new independent businesses, perhaps with a blend of excitement, anticipation and nerves. Artists, who are taking the time to do what they love-to craft, to design, to create. So, without further adieu, here is the first in a series of spotlights on rising artists. Congratulations to them for embarking on a journey of creation.

Our first designer in this series just opened her online store in November of 2007. Her custom paper, gift and card shop is an alternative overpriced mass-produced greetings. The following interview gives insight into her challenges and rewards of beginning a new business.

il_155x12521543452.jpg

Fathers Day Card $2.95 from Studio M

1. What inspired you to become an independent business owner?
The flexibility of being my own boss. I’m at SAHM [Stay at home mom] and love being able to spend time with my son while I create.

2. What have you found to be the easiest part of beginning your new business and what has been the most difficult?
The easiest is having an excuse to make new products. I love getting lost in my studio. The hardest is advertisement. I’d like to get some more exposure.

3. Explain what skills you have that you feel you have that have been absolutely necessary.
Self discipline is the biggest. You have to have that if you’re going to be your own boss. Also creativity is important. If you don’t have that, you don’t stand out.

4. How do you think you have been successful so far?
I’ve made some people happy when they have received something that I’ve made. Just seeing smiles when someone gets a card I’ve made or I hear that the person liked what I made makes it all worth it to me. Customer satisfaction is the best success.

5. What are some of your goals for the future?
My goals are to keep doing what I love. I’m happy doing what I’m doing now. Oh and maybe make a little bit of spending money while I’m at it.

Interested in finding out more about StudioM07. Visit her at Studio M

il_155x12521543768.jpg

A card so elegant and contemporary

Love Always Card, $2.95 from Studio M

Leave a Reply

