Rising Artists Interview: Labella Designs

My latest interview was with the designer behind Labella Designs. Here’s what she had to say:

1. What inspired you to become an independent business owner?
The opportunity to be completely in control of something, to see my ideas actually come to fruition and the desire to start a business that I could continue after I retire from my “real” job as a registered nurse. I had been mulling over the idea of starting a faux painting business when I took a jewelry making class for fun and just loved it. I think it was all the beautiful gemstones and the immediate gratification you get from creating something in a relatively short amount of time that really got me hooked. And of course, what woman doesn’t love jewelry?

2. What have you found to be the easiest part of beginning your new business and what has been the most difficult?
Easiest part: Deciding on my general area of business, as making jewelry kind of picked me. I was addicted after the first class. I would also say the creative part of designing and actually making my products is one of the easier aspects for me. Most Difficult: Staying focused on the business part of things: writing a plan, marketing, keeping records, paperwork, etc. I tend to get distracted by all the creative ideas floating around in my head!

3. Explain what skills you have that you feel you have that have been absolutely necessary.

Being organized and keeping good records has been absolutely necessary. You don’t know if you are making a profit or how to price things if you don’t keep records of everything you spend money on. It also it imerative at tax time to be well organized, whether you do your own taxes or hire an accountant. I am working on being more outgoing to help me with marketing my jewelry; this does not come naturally for me, but I think it is absolutely neccessary to feel comfortable with promoting yourself and your business to the public to be successful with a small business.

4. How do you think you have been successful so far?
I think that I’ve been successful so far in that I have branded my company with a distinct look, have set up my website and my shopping site. I am curently working on a more distinct look for my product line, something that will let you instantly recognize a piece as a “La Bella”.

5. What are some of your goals for the future?
Immediate goals are to get my jewelry into 3 retail stores this year and finalize a distinct line for fall and the holiday season. In 3-5 years I hope to have my own shopping site {I will definitely keep my etsy site as long as I am in the biz}, expand the number of retail stores to 15-20 and be accepted to 2-3 high-end juried art shows a year. I would also like to have 1 article a year published in a craft/art magazine. Ongoing goals are to keep expanding and improving my jewelry making skills. Ideally I would like to learn and perfect at least 2 new techniques a year.

il_430xn19544211.jpg
Rhodolite Earrings, $40.00 
One Response

  1. Thanks for the great interview. Now I know I’m not the only one who has trouble staying focused on the business aspects when the creative part of making jewelry is so much more fun!

Leave a Reply

