New Botanicals Collection by Valerie Tyler Designs

This summer I’m working on a very special new collection. I’m finding it really inspiring, as it’s bringing in multiple elements such as metal, wood, green organic materials, and well…even fire when I torch the pieces.

The ferns in my garden were my original inspiration.

Which led me to create this piece. It’s made of sterling silver, with a handsawn fern. An actual fern specimen has been lacquered into a smaller sterling dome and the entire piece is backed with ebony wood.

I’ll be collecting, pressing and drying natural specimen in the coming weeks. The lacquer was a test, and while it works I’ve ordered a much better resin for slightly different effect in the domed area. Most likely the collection will have a variety of herbs, small leaves, and tiny flowers.

Leave a Reply

