Cliche’ but True: Out with the Old and in with the New

Well, I’m frantically trying to wrap up some loose ends before it’s back to the regular full-time job after a little holiday break.  Part of that means getting everything ready business-wise now that it’s the end of the year for tax time. So basically I’m collecting all the old records, double-checking numbers, and the cherry on top will be doing a major inventory.  I’m planning on photographing some of the organization methods, so you can see just how much extra goes into running a design business other than just design.

On the subject of design however, this year was such a wonderful success, that I’m planning on greatly expanding the jewelry lines this year.  (If anyone can give me the secret of more hours in a day I would really appreciate it!) My main Valerie Tyler Designs line is now going to be completely focused on streamlined designs, along the lines of the new tagline “Modern. Contemporary.”  I’ll be unveiling pieces with mixed metals, geometric shapes, texture and simple forms.  I need to hit the studio soon to work on some more complicated pieces (think lots of rivets and 3-d)  in order to get some photos prepared to submit to art show juries.

New for 2009, I’m opening a Retro Collection.  For quite awhile now I’ve struggled with what I thought was a lack of focus, as in addition contemporary design, I’ve had a small passion for vintage and victorian style.  The retro collection will be an affordable line of reworked vintage pieces, art nouveau designs and made with brass, gunmetal and antiqued silver.  It’ll be lots of fun to create and I’m excited about it.

Sneak peeks to come soon!  (And perhaps a prize giveaway too)

Leave a Reply

