Cleveland Local Artist Web-site feature: Katie Balas

Last year at some point I came across the work of Katie Balas at an outdoor art show. I actually cannot even remember what show, but I found her work so striking I had to grab one of her cards (I’d have grabbed a painting too, but at the time with an upcoming wedding it just wasn’t in the budget!) What struck me at once was the incredible texture in her paintings. She layers the paints and makes them so incredibly dimensional. I found many of her paintings to be earthy and reminiscent of nature even though some are rather contemporary and geometric in nature. Check out here gallery of commissions and you will see how beautiful and striking they look in many home and business settings.

You can view much of her work and upcoming events atwww.katiebalas.com

2 Responses

  1. Cool share!Also I liked this blog’s layout.You will surely see me around your blog quite often as I like improving my knowledge.

  2. You have a very nice site! I really like the 3 column layout using wordpress. It’s good to see local artists posted and listed on your website! Good job!

Leave a Reply

